Constituent Services
Press Releases
Contact Us

Legislation Introduced to Enhance Safer Homes, Sidewalks, and Public Spaces Through Tree Removal Assistance

February 10, 2022

For Immediate Release
February 10, 2022
Contact: Amanda Farnan, or (202) 355-8431

Councilmember Christina Henderson Introduces Legislation to Enhance Safer Homes, Sidewalks, and Public Spaces Through Tree Removal Assistance

Washington, DC – Today, Councilmember Henderson introduced the Hazardous Tree Removal Assistance Amendment Act of 2022. This legislation will enable government support for our most vulnerable residents when removing hazardous trees. This enhancement to the existing Income-Contingent Tree Removal program would expand homeowner eligibility to include neighbors like senior citizens.  

“In order to support safer communities in the District, we must make it easier for residents to remove hazardous trees near their homes. After the first snowfall this year, DDOT received over 400 requests to respond to a downed tree in our neighborhoods – the need for this expansion is clear,” said Councilmember Henderson. “Today, residents who qualify for any income-contingent government assistance program, like SNAP or TANF, have access to government support when they need to remove a hazardous tree. This legislation would add senior citizens who qualify for property tax reflief to the eligible group.”  

While some tree failures are unforeseeable, the majority of them can be avoided by thoroughly evaluating properties for indicators. If not removed properly, hazardous trees can cause structural damage to homes, block sidewalks or roadways, and endanger resident safety. We know that hazardous tree removal can be expensive and labor intensive. This legislation would take the responsibility of removal off of our low-income neighbors and senior citizens, thus increasing the likelihood for removal and better supporting safety of the full community.

The Hazardous Tree Removal Assistance Amendment Act of 2022 was co-introduced by Councilmembers Brianne K. Nadeau, Brooke Pinto, and Robert C. White Jr.